Biographical

Portrait of Avisail Garcia

Avisail Garcia RFWhite Sox

White Sox Player Cards | White Sox Team Audit | White Sox Depth Chart

2018 Projections (Rest of Season Projections - seasonal age 27)
PA AVG HR R RBI SB TAv WARP
Login or Subscribe today for access to projections!
Birth Date6-12-1991
Height6' 4"
Weight240 lbs
Age27 years, 4 months, 4 days
BatsR
ThrowsR
-0.02014
0.42015
0.92016
3.72017
1.12018
+proj
WARP Summary

MLB Statistics

YEAR TEAM AGE G PA AB R H 2B 3B HR TB BB SO HBP SF SH RBI SB CS AVG OBP SLG TAv VORP FRAA WARP
2012 DET 21 23 51 47 7 15 0 0 0 15 3 10 1 0 0 3 0 2 .319 .373 .319 .241 0.1 1.5 0.2
2013 CHA 22 42 168 161 19 49 4 2 5 72 5 38 1 1 0 21 3 2 .304 .327 .447 .272 4.0 -3.7 0.0
2013 DET 22 30 88 83 12 20 3 1 2 31 4 21 0 1 0 10 0 1 .241 .273 .373 .246 1.4 -3.2 -0.2
2014 CHA 23 46 190 172 19 42 8 0 7 71 14 44 2 2 29 4 1 .244 .305 .413 .257 0.8 -1.0 -0.0
2015 CHA 24 148 601 553 66 142 17 2 13 202 36 141 8 4 0 59 7 7 .257 .309 .365 .245 0.6 3.5 0.4
2016 CHA 25 120 453 413 59 101 18 2 12 159 34 115 4 2 0 51 4 4 .245 .307 .385 .247 2.4 6.1 0.9
2017 CHA 26 136 561 518 75 171 27 5 18 262 33 111 9 1 0 80 5 3 .330 .380 .506 .293 29.2 7.2 3.7
2018 CHA 27 93 385 356 47 84 11 2 19 156 20 102 4 5 0 49 3 1 .236 .281 .438 .257 4.1 6.1 1.1
Career63824972303304624881476968149582291603022621.271.321.420.26142.516.66.0

Statistics for All Levels

'opp' stats - Quality of opponents faced - have been moved and are available only as OPP_QUAL in the Statistics reports now.
Minor league stats are currently shownClick to hide.
YEAR Team Lg G PA TAv oppAVG oppOBP oppSLG oppTAv BABIP BPF BRAA repLVL POS_ADJ FRAA BRR BVORP BWARP VORP WARP
2008 vdt Rk 63 263 .000 .000 .000 .000 .000 .332 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
2009 WMI A 81 315 .223 .257 .333 .376 .258 .342 101 -12.4 9.1 -3.4 -2.9 -0.9 -7.6 -1.1 -7.6 -1.1
2009 LAK A+ 3 8 .170 .230 .298 .325 .232 .333 114 -0.8 0.2 -0.1 0.0 0.2 -0.4 -0.0 -0.4 -0.0
2010 WMI A 125 524 .244 .255 .328 .378 .253 .358 102 -9.4 15.7 -6.1 -0.5 -2.7 -2.4 -0.3 -2.4 -0.3
2011 LAK A+ 129 515 .237 .262 .328 .386 .256 .339 101 -13.4 15.4 -5.7 -4.2 -2.1 -5.7 -1.0 -5.7 -1.0
2011 ORI Wnt 9 13 .000 .000 .000 .000 .000 .375 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
2012 DET MLB 23 51 .241 .248 .310 .394 .252 .405 106 -0.9 1.4 -0.4 1.5 0.1 0.1 0.2 0.1 0.2
2012 LAK A+ 67 287 .265 .254 .325 .366 .248 .335 107 1.7 8.6 -3 6.7 1.8 9.1 1.6 9.1 1.6
2012 ERI AA 55 226 .274 .249 .316 .368 .250 .357 107 3.4 6.2 -0.1 1.6 1.5 11.0 1.3 11.0 1.3
2012 ORI Wnt 15 60 .000 .000 .000 .000 .000 .256 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
2013 CHA MLB 42 168 .272 .249 .306 .387 .254 .370 100 2 4.4 -1.3 -3.7 -1.1 4.0 0.0 4.0 0.0
2013 DET MLB 30 88 .246 .249 .315 .385 .260 .295 102 -1.2 2.3 0 -3.2 0.3 1.4 -0.2 1.4 -0.2
2013 LAK A+ 6 28 .393 .248 .328 .375 .258 .409 101 4.1 0.8 -0.3 -0.6 0.7 5.4 0.5 5.4 0.5
2013 CHR AAA 8 32 .387 .261 .339 .390 .261 .409 97 4 0.8 0.1 -1.1 -0.4 4.5 0.3 4.5 0.3
2013 TOL AAA 33 156 .342 .257 .317 .384 .250 .455 95 13.9 4.5 -0.2 -2.6 0.6 18.7 1.6 18.7 1.6
2014 CHA MLB 46 190 .257 .256 .311 .396 .259 .285 105 -0.5 4.9 -1.8 -1.0 -1.8 0.8 -0.0 0.8 -0.0
2014 CHR AAA 13 53 .280 .253 .326 .377 .247 .485 114 1.2 1.6 -0.8 0.3 0.8 2.8 0.3 2.8 0.3
2015 CHA MLB 148 601 .245 .252 .313 .399 .256 .320 102 -8.8 16.2 -6.5 3.5 -0.3 0.6 0.4 0.6 0.4
2016 CHA MLB 120 453 .247 .255 .316 .421 .254 .309 104 -6.1 12.8 -6.4 6.1 2.0 2.4 0.9 2.4 0.9
2016 CHR AAA 3 14 .362 .260 .314 .378 .253 .444 112 1.5 0.4 -0.2 -0.0 -0.0 1.7 0.2 1.7 0.2
2017 CHA MLB 136 561 .293 .254 .317 .425 .255 .392 107 19.5 16.4 -6.2 7.2 -0.5 29.2 3.7 29.2 3.7
2017 CHR AAA 1 4 .001 .213 .281 .311 .209 .000 91 -1.1 0.1 0 -0.3 0.0 -1.1 -0.1 -1.1 -0.1
2018 CHA MLB 93 385 .257 .252 .316 .418 .261 .271 104 -1.1 10.8 -4.2 6.1 -1.4 4.1 1.1 4.1 1.1
2018 CHR AAA 7 28 .415 .281 .337 .428 .272 .462 99 4.7 0.8 -0.4 -0.2 -0.3 4.9 0.5 4.9 0.5

Statistics For All Levels

Minor league stats are currently shownClick to hide.
Year Team Lg PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG ISO TAv VORP FRAA WARP
2008 vdt Rk 263 33 73 12 2 7 34 15 39 7 5 .298 .344 .449 .151 .000 0.0 0.0 0.0
2009 WMI A 315 36 79 11 2 1 31 8 70 8 7 .264 .293 .324 .060 .223 -7.6 -2.9 -1.1
2009 LAK A+ 8 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250 .000 .170 -0.4 0.0 -0.0
2010 WMI A 524 58 139 17 4 4 63 20 113 20 4 .281 .316 .356 .075 .244 -2.4 -0.5 -0.3
2011 LAK A+ 515 53 129 16 6 11 56 18 132 14 5 .264 .297 .389 .125 .237 -5.7 -4.2 -1.0
2011 ORI Wnt 13 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .250 .308 .250 .000 .000 0.0 0.0 0.0
2012 LAK A+ 287 47 77 8 5 8 36 11 57 14 4 .289 .324 .447 .158 .265 9.1 6.7 1.6
2012 ORI Wnt 60 7 10 2 0 0 1 5 15 1 1 .185 .267 .222 .037 .000 0.0 0.0 0.0
2012 DET MLB 51 7 15 0 0 0 3 3 10 0 2 .319 .373 .319 .000 .241 0.1 1.5 0.2
2012 ERI AA 226 31 67 9 3 6 22 7 38 9 4 .312 .345 .465 .153 .274 11.0 1.6 1.3
2013 CHR AAA 32 6 10 0 1 1 9 4 4 0 0 .370 .469 .556 .185 .387 4.5 -1.1 0.3
2013 CHA MLB 168 19 49 4 2 5 21 5 38 3 2 .304 .327 .447 .143 .272 4.0 -3.7 0.0
2013 TOL AAA 156 23 55 7 1 5 23 8 32 4 2 .374 .410 .537 .163 .342 18.7 -2.6 1.6
2013 LAK A+ 28 9 10 0 2 1 4 4 1 2 0 .417 .500 .708 .292 .393 5.4 -0.6 0.5
2013 DET MLB 88 12 20 3 1 2 10 4 21 0 1 .241 .273 .373 .133 .246 1.4 -3.2 -0.2
2014 CHR AAA 53 9 17 3 0 1 3 1 16 0 0 .340 .377 .460 .120 .280 2.8 0.3 0.3
2014 CHA MLB 190 19 42 8 0 7 29 14 44 4 1 .244 .305 .413 .169 .257 0.8 -1.0 -0.0
2015 CHA MLB 601 66 142 17 2 13 59 36 141 7 7 .257 .309 .365 .108 .245 0.6 3.5 0.4
2016 CHR AAA 14 2 5 1 0 1 4 1 3 0 0 .385 .429 .692 .308 .362 1.7 -0.0 0.2
2016 CHA MLB 453 59 101 18 2 12 51 34 115 4 4 .245 .307 .385 .140 .247 2.4 6.1 0.9
2017 CHA MLB 561 75 171 27 5 18 80 33 111 5 3 .330 .380 .506 .176 .293 29.2 7.2 3.7
2017 CHR AAA 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000 .000 .001 -1.1 -0.3 -0.1
2018 CHR AAA 28 5 9 3 0 3 9 3 9 0 0 .360 .429 .840 .480 .415 4.9 -0.2 0.5
2018 CHA MLB 385 47 84 11 2 19 49 20 102 3 1 .236 .281 .438 .202 .257 4.1 6.1 1.1

Plate Discipline

YEAR PITCHES ZONE_RT SWING_RT CONTACT_RT Z_SWING_RT O_SWING_RT Z_CONTACT_RT O_CONTACT_RT SW_STRK_RT CSAA_CHANCES CSAA_RT
2012 145 0.5517 0.6000 0.7701 0.7375 0.4308 0.8305 0.6429 0.2299 46 0.000331
2013 917 0.4733 0.5758 0.7083 0.7857 0.3872 0.7566 0.6203 0.2917 276 0.008020
2014 698 0.4441 0.5444 0.6500 0.7452 0.3840 0.7922 0.4295 0.3500 237 -0.002150
2015 2107 0.4347 0.5904 0.6897 0.7806 0.4442 0.8168 0.5180 0.3103 694 -0.008136
2016 1722 0.4640 0.5476 0.6691 0.7384 0.3824 0.8153 0.4249 0.3309 0 0.000000
2017 2011 0.4674 0.5833 0.7084 0.8245 0.3716 0.8271 0.4774 0.2916 0 0.000000
2018 1414 0.4547 0.5856 0.6606 0.7807 0.4228 0.8008 0.4448 0.3394 0 0.000000
Career90140.45730.5750.68550.77940.40220.80850.48520.3145209.3905-0.0012

Injury History  —  No longer being updated

Last Update: 12/31/2014 23:59 ET

Date On Date Off Transaction Days Games Side Body Part Injury Severity Surgery Date Reaggravation
2014-09-26 2014-09-27 DTD 1 1 - Low Back Soreness -
2014-04-10 2014-08-16 60-DL 128 113 Left Shoulder Surgery Labrum and Avulsion Fracture 2014-04-15 -
2014-02-21 2014-02-23 Camp 2 0 - Surgery Ingrown Nail - -
2013-09-08 2013-09-10 DTD 2 2 - Head Other Dental Work - -
2013-03-22 2013-05-01 15-DL 40 25 - Foot Contusion Heel - -
2013-03-17 2013-03-22 Camp 5 0 - Foot Contusion Heel - -
2012-05-23 2012-05-31 Minors 8 7 - Thigh Strain Hamstring - -

Compensation

Year Team Salary
2018 CHA $6,700,000
2017 CHA $3,000,000
2016 CHA $2,100,000
2015 CHA $523,000
2014 CHA $510,000
2013 DET $490,000
2012 DET $
YearsDescriptionSalary
5 yrPrevious$6,623,000
2018Current$6,700,000
6 yrPvs + Cur$13,323,000
6 yrTotal$13,323,000

 

Service TimeAgentContract Status
4 y 167 dGene Mato1 year/$6.7M (2018)

Details
  • 1 year/$6.7M (2018). Won arbitration with Chicago White Sox 2/14/18 ($6.7M-$5.85M).
  • 1 year/$3M (2017). Re-signed by Chicago White Sox 12/2/16 (avoided arbitration).
  • 1 year/$2.1M (2016). Re-signed by Chicago White Sox 1/15/16 (avoided arbitration).
  • 1 year/$0.523M (2015). Re-signed by Chicago White Sox 3/3/15.
  • 1 year/$0.51M (2014). Re-signed by Chicago White Sox 3/1/14.
  • 1 year/$0.49M (2013). Re-signed by Detroit 3/2/13. Acquired by Chicago White Sox in three-way trade from Detroit 7/30/13 (Jake Peavy deal).
  • 1 year (2012). Contract purchased by Detroit 11/18/11. Re-signed by Detroit 2/14/12.
  • Signed by Detroit 2007 as an amateur free agent from Venezuela. $0.2M signing bonus.

The rest of this card is restricted to Baseball Prospectus Subscribers.

Not a subscriber? Click here for a free card so you can see what's missing.

Click here for more information on Baseball Prospectus subscriptions or to subscribe and get instant access to the best baseball content on the web.

Platoon

SORT_FIELD PLATOON AVG OBP SLG TAv
10 vs L (Multi) .254 .324 .399 .270
11 vs R (Multi) .250 .303 .375 .239
11 vs U (Multi) .000 .000 .000 .000
18 Split (Multi) -.004 -.021 -.024 -.031
19 LgAvg (Multi) -.010 -.021 -.029 -.017
30 vs L (2016) .222 .304 .374 .263
31 vs R (2016) .252 .309 .389 .241
31 vs U (2016) .000 .000 .000 .000
38 Split (2016) .029 .005 .015 -.022
39 LgAvg (2016) -.008 -.018 -.027 -.016

Definition of multi-year splits

BP Annual Player Comments

The rest of this card is restricted to Baseball Prospectus Subscribers.

Not a subscriber? Click here for a free card so you can see what's missing.

Click here for more information on Baseball Prospectus subscriptions or to subscribe and get instant access to the best baseball content on the web.

BP Articles

Click here to see articles tagged with Avisail Garcia

BP Chats

DateQuestionAnswer
2017-10-12 20:00:00 (link to chat)What do you think is the probability that we just witnessed Avisail Garcia's best season he'll ever have in Major League Baseball? Between what I believe is an inevitable switch in baseballs and Garcia's inflated BABIP, I am very skeptical of his ability to repeat this season's success.
(Mike Musary from Illinois)
He's certainly capable of a high BABIP. He hits to opposite field a lot and runs freaking hard and fast out of the box. But .390 is a big ask. He could certainly luck his way to another such season, of course, but I think .330-.350 is more "normal" for him, until he slows down.

Still, so thrilled he improved to "adequate" on defense, means he could regress on batted ball luck and still be a 2-3 win player, which...is a lot better than it looked for a long time. (Nick Schaefer)
2017-07-12 13:00:00 (link to chat)In the vein of Avisail Garcia's magical 2017, what post-hype failed prospect do you think will break out and have an All-Star season next year?
(Dr. 100 from Las Vegas)
It's not just Avisail either--Smoak, Morrison, Cozart, Alonso all fit this description as well. Almost makes me want to say Pedro Alvarez. Given his speed and glove, if Cameron Maybin gets lucky on health and balls in play he could do it.

If Mike Zunino hits .250 he's an All Star candidate too, I would think. (Nick Schaefer)
2017-06-22 13:00:00 (link to chat)Who do you think the White Sox actually trade at the deadline?
(jfegan from Papa John's)
Hey, an easy one to start. Thanks, Jim Jam.

I think the most obvious answer here is David Robertson, as relievers seem to be the biggest need among contenders. Whether the White Sox are willing to absorb some of his money or not will be the determining factor on what they get in return (spoiler alert: they won't be willing). But I think he's gone regardless. After Robertson, Melky, Frazier and Swazark are probably the most likely to go.

I don't think the Sox will budget on Quintana until they get an offer they believe is reasonably value, and given his start to the season, that's unlikely to come before July 31. I also think they'll hold onto Avisail Garcia and Tommy Kahnle. (Collin Whitchurch)
2017-05-02 13:00:00 (link to chat)George, I am in a unique 13-team 5X5 ROTO league. We use all of the AL teams and 2 of the NL teams (Cubs & Nationals this year). I have 2 offers I'd love your thoughts on: 1) Derek Holland for Michael Taylor; 2) Ervin Santana for Avisail Garcia. My pitching is strong, but bats are lagging behind. Thanks so much in advance.
(wbaker0621 from Connecticut)
I'm probably taking the deal for Taylor (power/speed with huge batting average risk) but keeping Ervin. (George Bissell)
2017-04-28 13:30:00 (link to chat)Give us a hot start you believe in (not Harper, dope) and one you think is a mirage
(Gotribe31 from DC)
Does Mitch Haniger count? I was never the highest on him before the swing changes, but I think Nick Piecoro did a great job of detailing those and others in our DBacks essay for the Annual this year, and I think we're seeing them come to fruition (granted, in Seattle). He's not gonna hit .340 or anything, but the power/speed combination is fun there. Mirage I'll go with Avisail Garcia because I've watched him play baseball before. (Craig Goldstein)
2017-04-11 19:00:00 (link to chat)Who will be the White Sox All-Star rep in 2017 and why will it be Leury Garcia?
(Beeps Lover from Manhattan)
The White Sox are the weirdest rebuilding team ever because they haven't finished selling and they're still littered with All Star-type guys. Given that a ton of pitchers initially selected back out and need replacement due to injury or timing of the game, pretty much any plus pitcher on the team is a candidate to go--Nate Jones, David Robertson, Jose Quintana if he's still on the team. Rodon starting on the DL probably rules him out.

Position player wise, 1B is stacked, but Jose Abreu should be a worthy candidate. Anderson could break out, Frazier has done it before...

So what I'm trying to say is Avisail Garcia. (Nick Schaefer)
2016-04-14 20:00:00 (link to chat)Are you bullish any of these young platoon outfielders become complete players in the next 2 years? Aaron Hicks, Trayce Thompson, Anthony Gose, Adam Duvall, Avisail Garcia, Tyler Naquin?
(Yes Cheese from Yep)
Absolutely no, never, not gonna happen on Avisail Garcia. I don't think he turns into anything. I'd be surprised if Trayce Thompson turns into a decent everyday player at the MLB level, too. I think Gose is a platoon player, although he's on the good side of the platoon and plays excellent defense, so he could get a little more playing time by virtue of his defense. I don't think Adam Duval will ever be a legit starter on a decent team. Naquin could get more run than most players with his offensive profile due to his glove and the lack of options in CF in Cleveland for the time being. I like Hicks, though. I'm not sure Hicks will ever be a complete player, but he's the best bet of this group. The twins really jerked him around, though, and it hurt his development, maybe irreparably. His glove and arm will give him a lot more chances to figure it out than most outfielders, though. (Scooter Hotz)
2015-10-22 14:00:00 (link to chat)What should the White Sox do this offseason? We have 3 good starting pitchers, Jose Abreu, and mostly junk beyond those guys. We cant' possibly go into 2016 with Avisail Garcia and Tyler Flowers in a starting role again....right?
(Ziggy from South Sider)
I actually have already written a piece, though it won't run until after the season, advocating that the Sox blow it up and use Sale, Abreu, and Quintana to reload fast and brilliantly. The core is good, but way too small, and there's way too little around it. (Matthew Trueblood)
2014-09-23 13:00:00 (link to chat)Thanks for the chat, Ethan!! In your opinion, is the Avisail Garcia we've seen the past few weeks the same guy we should expect to see next year??
(Charlie from Chicago)
He's certainly not the .289/.373/.511 hitter that he's been over the past two weeks in the long term. His hit tool will always be tempered by a lack of discipline at the plate, so for me, he's more of an average hitter with plus power and a good defender in right field with a cannon for an arm. I'd look at his line so far this season as a realistic guide as to what he is in the long term with some upside for more in his peak years. As an aside, he's a personal favorite. I'm a sucker for the prototype in right field. (Ethan Purser)
2014-07-24 19:00:00 (link to chat)20 Team Dynasty - Ian Kennedy for Avisail Garcia. Who wins?
(The Pope Of Chili Town from Chili Town)
Kennedy ROS, Avisail Garcia forever more. Garcia really needed some ABs this year but I still believe. (Mauricio Rubio)
2014-04-03 19:30:00 (link to chat)I shouldn't pit you between your colleagues like this but I wanted to ask another question so here it is. If Ben and Mauricio went into a one on one hell in a cell match who do you think would win? If each writer could chose a baseball player as a sidekick who would each of them choose? What would each writers finisher be? What would their respective players finisher be? Thanks for holding the chat baseball prospectors, Trev
(Trevor Bauer from New York)
one on one I'm taking Mau on pure strength but Ben might outwit him by sleeping through the entire beatdown, only to surprise attack Mau as he takes a victory lap. Mau would probably take Avisail Garcia because he can't shutup about him and Ben would take Xander just to get closer to him. I have no idea on the other stuff because I don't understand the appeal of wrestlemen (Craig Goldstein)
2014-04-03 19:30:00 (link to chat)Kole Calhoun and Avisail Garcia both got some preseason helium. Which one do you like more for 2014?
(Henry S. from Westish)
Garcia and it's not close. This isn't to say he'll have more value at season's end but he's got way more ceiling than Calhoun and that's something I'm willing to gamble on. (Craig Goldstein)
2014-03-19 20:00:00 (link to chat)What do you see as Avisail Garcia's ceiling and do you think he has a legitimate shot at reaching it?
(joseph from Illinois)
His ceiling is a 20-20 producer with a reasonably good batting average, and I don't think he ever gets there. (Bret Sayre)
2014-03-24 13:00:00 (link to chat)Avisail Garcia - for real?
(Greg from Texas)
Well he hasn't done anything yet that needs to be declared fake or real. He's mostly hype... reasonable hype, IMO, but fairly priced, too. I'm buying. (Paul Sporer)
2014-01-21 18:00:00 (link to chat)Mike, I've got Brett Lawrie for $9 in a $260 Roto Auction Keeper. What's this guy's deal?? Am I silly for keeping him at this price, or does he have a chance to help in 4 to 5 categories and make him worth the risk? Also, any thoughts on Avasail Garcia? I've seen some people project 30hr. Seems like a reach to me...
(Russ from San Diego)
He's great at $9. Keep in mind that the expectations were ridiculous for Lawrie in 2012 because of a short season success in 2011 with a BA spike. He is still a very productive player who I believe gets better but at that price you can't go wrong.

Yes, that's a reach on Avisail Garcia. 20 HR seems more realistic, and I wouldn't be surprised to see as little at 15. I don't see 30 at all (now watch him go and do that). (Mike Gianella)
2014-01-06 13:00:00 (link to chat)What do you expect out of Avisail Garcia this season? The Cabrera comparisons of last season were ridiculous. I am looking for a more reasonable voice.
(Chad from OKC)
The Cabrera comparisons are last year's best example of why I hate comparisons the way most people do them. Why was he being compared to the greatest right-handed hitter of the past decade? Because they both play for the Tigers, bat right-handed and are baby-faced Venezuelans? He has some pop but maybe never enough for a corner outfield spot. He's ultra-aggressive and will make a ton of outs. He needs to hit .300 to be a productive major league corner outfielder. (Jeff Moore)
2013-11-19 13:00:00 (link to chat)Please rank: Avisail Garcia, Oswaldo Arcia, Marcell Ozuna?
(Felipe from Mexico)
Arcia, gap, Garcia, Ozuna. (Bret Sayre)
2013-11-14 13:00:00 (link to chat)Curious about your thoughts on Avisail Garcia's ceiling and if DET will eventually regret that trade?
(Mike from Detroit)
Whether or not Detroit regrets the trade depends on the outcome of Jose Iglesias' time there. If he's the everyday shortstop and provides good value in the field and at the bottom of the order, I'm not sure they're going to regret the deal too much.

As for Garcia himself, I think he can be an above-average regular in right field. Defenisvely, he's going to be an asset there with good instincts, average speed and a big arm. Offensively, even with an aggressive approach, he's got a feel to hit and there's power in the bat. (Mark Anderson)
2013-10-07 18:00:00 (link to chat)Hi Mike, rank the following outfielders for 2014: Avisail Garcia, Corey Dickerson, and Desmond Jennings. Thanks!
(James from Chicago)
Hey James.

Of those 3 OF, I would rank Jennings at the top. He is the most proven of the trio and most likely to get a full season's worth of playing time. Garcia is 2nd. He will probably play all season for the White Sox, and has enough speed to make him a slight sleeper candidate. Dickerson is at the bottom. His numbers for the Rockies weren't great, and I'm not convinced yet that he wasn't a product of hitter-friendly Colorado Springs. Maybe he gets a full season of AB for the Rockies, but maybe he doesn't. Josh Rutledge was considered a no-brainer $20 earner but had OBP issues and flopped. Dickerson has similar OBP issues. If you can't get on base, you're going to have problems, even in COL. (Mike Gianella)
2013-10-07 18:00:00 (link to chat)List 5 hitters and pitchers that you feel could be breakout players in 2014. Thanks for the chat, Mike!
(Brett from The Office)
Hi Brett.

Hitters: Christian Yelich, Billy Hamilton, Oscar Taveras, Avisail Garcia, Josmil Pinto.

Pitchers: Jameson Taillon, Rafael Montero, Drew Smyly, Jimmy Nelson, Taijuan Walker. (Mike Gianella)
2013-09-27 13:00:00 (link to chat)Would love your opinion on Avisail Garcia now that we've seen him play 40 games in MLB.
(Shawn from Chicago)
My opinion hasn't changed much. I've seen Garcia play since he was 18-years old and just arriving in the US. He is an ultra-talented kid with the ability to flash five average or better tools. He can handle center field in a pinch but fits oh so well in right field long term. The contact ability is there -- almost to his detriment -- and I still believe he's going to run into 25+ doubles and 15-20 home runs a year when all is said and done. Not to mention his makeup is off the charts; great kid. He is an impressive player and a good get for the White Sox. (Mark Anderson)
2013-05-30 13:30:00 (link to chat)Hey Mark what do you think of Avisail Garcia? I know he has plate discipline issues but any upside there? Little Miggy should learn from Big Miggy if you ask me. Thanks!
(Tim from KC)
There is certainly upside there. The plate discipline is an issue in that it leads to more weak contact than you would like from a guy of his stature. However, he does have an impressive ability to get the barrel of the bat to the baseball, giving him a chance to hit for a decent average anyway. His hitting ability and defense have never really been questions. The question has always been how much of his raw power will ultimately translate to games. He can put on some impressive batting practice displays, but he has yet to unlock that in game situations, tending to suffice for mediocre contact instead of trying to unload and drive the ball. Overall, I think he can be a solid everyday guy, even though the raw tools suggest a fair bit more than that. (Mark Anderson)
2013-05-16 13:00:00 (link to chat)Thanks for the chat! What's your take on Avisail Garcia? Does he have legitimate upside with the bat?
(Henry from Chicago)
He does. But to be honest, I'm not really sure what he is going to be. Clearly he has offensive tools; good bat control and a quick, efficient trigger. Despite the size/strength and fluidity of the swing [itself], I'm not sure how much over-the-fence power he will develop. I've asked around about him quite a bit and opinions are very mixed on the ceiling of the bat. (Jason Parks)
2013-05-10 14:00:00 (link to chat)Thanks for the chat! What is your take on Avisail Garcia? High ceiling kind of guy?
(Adam from Houston)
Garcia's lack of secondary skills probably limits the height of his ceiling. He has the chops to make consistent contact, but with near-zero patience and limited power, he basically has to hit .300 in order to carry much value.

On the jukebox: Billy Idol, "Rebel Yell" (Doug Thorburn)
2013-05-10 14:00:00 (link to chat)Speaking of Avisail Garcia, who do you think gets the call to the majors first, Garcia or Nick Castellanos? Will Detroit wait for an injury, or just promote one of them when they think they're ready?
(Jon from Detroit)
Castellanos is scuffling a bit at the higher levels, and his breakout at Lakeland is drifting further into the rearview mirror. The MLB roster is pretty loaded and the Tigers sit in a weak division, but Andy Dirks is not blocking anybody in LF. I say that Garcia gets there first, but that Castellanos wins the job once he is ready. A competitive team like Detroit has less incentive to play games with the arb clock, but in this case the promotion will be tied to performance. Castellanos has to earn his role. (Doug Thorburn)
2013-02-25 11:00:00 (link to chat)Comparing your list with BA (I know, snapshots, different information) and looking for big differences, I see that Lance McCullers, Adam Eaton, and Avisail Garcia aren't even on your list. Why so?
(Brady Childs from Ruston, Louisiana)
Because I don't value them as highly as some; different reasons for each player, but its not like they suck because they don't land on a prospect list. As I've said, you can make a case for 100 players for the final 50 spots. (Jason Parks on the Top 101 Prospects)
2013-02-22 13:00:00 (link to chat)Who's the better prospect: Avisail Garcia or Marcell Ozuna? Which one has a better chance at becoming an all-star in the big leagues? Thanks!
(Cole from St. Louis)
They're the same. Obviously they're not really, but there is no known data to suggest we know one way or the other. (Those are the worst kind of answers but they're my favorite.) If I had to pick I'd pick Ozuna because I was tweeting jokes at Garcia's expense during the postseason last year and so I'd like those tweets not to look hysterically misguided ever. (Sam Miller)


BP Roundtables

No BP Roundtables have mentioned this guy.

 

PITCHf/x Hitter Profile

A Collaboration between BrooksBaseball.net and Baseball Prospectus - Pitch classifications provided by Pitch Info LLC